Flying Kids Records
Rainbow Island - Crystal Smerluvio Riddims

Rainbow Island - Crystal Smerluvio Riddims

Rainbow Island
"Crystal Smerluvio Riddims"
KID017 - Produced with No=Fi Recordings

(300 copies limited edition vinyl)

Rainbow Island are an interdimensional-psych band based in Rome, Italy. Crystal Smerluvio Riddims is their second LP following their acclaimed debut RNBW, released in 2012, two cassette releases and their participation in the Interdimensional Folklore Vol. I compilation release by the Milan Communion collective in late 2016.

Rainbow Island is a prominent voice in the Italian psych underground and in the Rome psych community that gravitates around the Dal Verme club, the Thalassa festival and bands such as Mai Mai Mai and Heroin in Tahiti. Rainbow Island’s drummer also played a few dates with Mai Mai Mai in the past months.
Rainbow Island explore interdimensional territories and frequencies coming from distant universes and unchanneled frequencies. Rainbow Island sound brings together elements of electronics, psych-space rhythms and temporal explorations. RNBW was meant to be the inauguration of the project and the launch of the journey to the unexplored Bongolandia, while Crystal Smerluvio Riddims is the continuation of the exploration, brought to a more mature and conscious level. In this new album Rainbow Island’s futuristic psychedelia meets dub and primitive rhythms.

In Rainbow Island words, the rhythmical heart of each composition included in Crystal Smerluvio Riddims is made of a concept of lightning coloured multidimensional bismuth crystal and smerluviante viscous matter. Crystal Smerluvio Riddims is Rainbow Island response to the raising dark Aggrocene geological era and it smerluvio matter. The album is a blob of chaotic sounds and information overload in the shape of a crystal, a place where Rainbow Island tripping across sounds and influences comes together.

Crystal Smerluvio Riddims is released jointly by Flying Kids Records (FKR) - FKR also released Rainbow Island’s first album RNBW in 2012 - and the Rome-based NO=FI Recordings, that already worked with Rainbow Island in 2013 for the tape Road to Mirapuri. The graphics project for the new album has been curated by multi-artist Canedicoda, who is also responsible for the experimental project Ottaven.

1. Fat Sak
2. Phase Spider
3. Rotating Peach
4. 8 Yap
5. Gigi Rally
6. Jiang

Pre-order, out now

15 euros + shipping

15 EUR